我们如何以不同的方式思考健康问题?

以帮助终结可预防疾病?

并改善全球亿万人民的生活?

将思路转化为影响力

乔治全球健康研究院,我们专注于对抗世界“头号杀手”:非传染性疾病(NCD)和伤害。我们是一家全球领先的医疗研究机构,拥有600多名员工,在全球逾50个国家开展业务,并在澳大利亚、中国、印度和英国设有研究中心。

我们以改善全球亿万人民的健康为使命。我们认为,经济有效的非传染性疾病管理方法为帮助人们享有更长的寿命和更健康的生活提供了前所未有的机会。

我们进行高质量的研究,寻找问题的答案并开发解决方案,拓展影响力。

我们的模式

为完善我们的研究,乔治全球健康研究院独特的全球健康政策智库项目专注于非传染性疾病和伤害,以及改进的预防和治疗体系。我们乐于分享我们的见解,挑战现状,并促进相关的讨论。该智库项目涉及乔治全球健康研究院的现有研究人员以及外部的杰出学者,这些学者都是各自领域的领导者。

我们的侧重领域

乔治全球健康研究院智库项目侧重关注的领域为:

指导原则

我们的智库倡导遵循以下指导原则开展工作:

  • 挑战现状;
  • 推动批判性分析和反省思维;
  • 发展网络和合作以实现真正的变革;
  • 面向全球流行病,尤其是非传染性疾病和伤害;
  • 关注弱势群体。

杰出学者

您想成为我们的一员吗?您是健康研究学者、健康政策专家、政策制定者或健康倡导者吗?

通过乔治全球健康研究院的杰出学者项目,您可以为健康问题的全球辩论做出贡献。作为杰出学者,您无需脱离目前所在的机构。我们将支持您的思想领导工作,帮助您将见解扩展到全球的关键利益相关者。

我们的学者将围绕非传染性疾病和伤害,以及改进的预防和治疗体系展开对话。您可以通过博客、公开演讲、视频、社交媒体和讨论文章来进行对话。我们甚至会支持您开展活动,以突出特定的挑战和解决方案,或赞助您进行会议报告或发表与研究相关的类似公告。我们的学者还可以通过我们在北京、德里、牛津或悉尼的办事处,寻求与利益相关者直接接触的机会。我们的社交媒体、设计、活动和媒体团队将会全程协助您。

乔治全球健康研究院杰出学者项目:减少非传染性疾病和伤害负担,改善人民健康的思路和解决方案。

欲申请或了解更多信息,请联系 Jacqui Webster +61 2 8052 4520 或 jwebster@georgeinstitute.org.au

关于我们:Jacqui Webster副教授

乔治全球健康研究院,公共卫生宣传和政策影响负责人

您是一个充满激情的健康饮食倡导者。是什么促使您从事健康研究工作?

我一直对食物非常感兴趣。我在英国北约克郡的一个农场里长大。我吃的食物都是家里自制的,或从农场和菜园里采摘的。我母亲认为从商店直接购买果酱和袋装调味汁等现成产品是一种欺骗行为。

我先学习了社会学,然后是国际发展,在那时我第一次意识到全球食品安全方面巨大的不平等。我的第一份工作是倡导改善英国低收入人群健康状况的食品政策。后来,我进入英国食品标准局工作,在那里我帮助英国政府建立了成功的减盐战略。

乔治全球健康研究院的研究人员都是全球健康领域的领军人物。您认为什么是公共卫生最紧迫的目标?

迄今为止,我的很多研究都是关于通过支持公司减少膳食中的盐分来减少消费者盐摄入量。但是,目前迫切需要增加政府对于更广泛预防政策的关注和支出。这包括改善环境,从而通过提供更好的食物和营养、改善精神健康状况和减少伤害来支持更健康的生活。

您希望智库项目得到什么结果?

乔治全球健康研究院的研究重点关注能够改善全球亿万人民健康状况的低成本解决方案。我们的智库项目确保我们的研究能够影响政策和实践,并最终改善人们的健康。我们将通过健康的生活环境、改善的医疗体系,以及解决女性健康不平等和社会企业等交叉问题来达到该目的。我们将通过一系列不同的渠道(包括数字媒体和活动)来分享见解、挑战现状,并促进各种能够在澳大利亚和全球范围内对健康产生真正影响的辩论。

关于健康饮食研究,您最感兴趣的是什么?

每个人都是不同的,影响食物选择的因素也是复杂多变的。个性化营养的转变令人着迷,但可能只与少数自我激励的人有关;对于绝大多数人来说,价格、实用性、文化、知识等食物环境更会影响他们的日常食物选择。告诉人们该吃什么不会对他们产生重大影响,除非我们可以改变食物环境。

在不久的将来,您希望我们所有人拥有什么样的饮食?

没有哪种饮食能够适合所有人,但总的来说,看到人们越来越多地食用新鲜食品,减少食用加工食品,这是件好事。VicHealth减盐合作伙伴的口号 “如果是包装食品,很可能是用盐包装的”说明了一切。我们需要让人们食用更多的新鲜食品,包括水果和蔬菜,以及较少的加工食品。显然,不是每个人都能每天在家做饭,所以我们需要确保生产商提高包装加工食品的健康性,以及饭店和餐饮店出售更健康的膳食。

您能够通过工作了解更多关于饮食的知识,那么您是如何改变您的生活方式的?

我不吃的食物很少。我喜欢食物,也喜欢外出就餐和娱乐。因此,我试图通过在上班时自带健康的午餐来进行平衡,并确保我们大多数时候只在家里吃健康的食物和零食。

您认为什么情况下的健康倡议行动最有效?能举例说明我们的研究如何对人们的生活产生重大影响吗?比如关于更好的饮食选择?

当然,英国减盐战略(已经减少了15%的盐摄入量,估计每年拯救大约9000人的生命)成功的一个原因是,研究、倡导、政府和行业都在为同一目标共同努力。此外,这个项目主要的关注点是改变食物环境,即减少食物和膳食中的盐含量——这是成功的关键。

在发展中国家,减盐的项目也有很大的潜力,有时甚至可以很快地看到成效。在对蒙古进行访问时,我参观了一家面包厂,并与负责人讨论了减盐的重要性,他立即减少了工厂生产面包中的盐含量——该工厂蒙古境内的市场占有率约50%。  这将对蒙古人民的健康产生直接和重大的影响。

但并非所有的改变都那么容易。在许多国家,加工食品越来越多,我担心的是方便面等产品的消费不断增长,这些产品可能既便宜又方便,但却含有大量的盐。

是什么让您有动力继续帮助人们改善饮食?

最初,我的兴趣是解决营养不良问题,也就是人们的食物不足问题。但在过去的10到15年里,我的首要任务已经发生转移,因为越来越多的人吃得太多,或者食用不利于健康的食物,这会导致非传染性疾病,如糖尿病或心血管疾病。保持动力并不难。食物体系非常复杂,总有一些新的东西需要学习。而且,每个人都喜欢谈论食物和健康。

乔治全球健康研究院的研究人员主要关注的是预防和低成本的解决方案,哪些是您最感兴趣的?

举个例子,新的低成本透析机有可能极大地增加全球肾病患者接受此类拯救生命治疗的途径。

同时,SMARThealth为提高许多国家的患者医疗护理效率提供了一个令人兴奋的机会,并且我们对一种新复方药物(结合了对多种风险因素的治疗)进行的试验将有助于提高依从性,并有可能大幅降低全球健康预算的成本。

这些只是一些低成本解决方案的例子,它们可以在医疗护理的选择、治疗和提高医疗护理体系的效率方面产生影响。我们现在的挑战是确保相关人员能够了解它们,使它们融入到政策和实践中,最终影响人们的健康并拯救生命。

关于我们:Kelly Thompson

乔治全球健康研究院,女性健康项目经理

是什么促使您从事健康研究工作,什么让您保持动力?

作为一名护士,我获得了极大的满足感,但在一个充满挑战的体系中,这确实是一项艰巨的工作,到最后,我常常觉得自己做的不“足够”。我一直都有一种内在的认识,我的人生目标是为他人服务,在研究中,我可以在很大程度上做到这一点,并且没有在前线工作时经常产生的倦怠感。明确目的让我保持动力。

如果您没有从事健康工作,您会从事什么工作呢?

当我作为一名医疗接待员开始我的第一份工作时,我就知道我会一直从事健康方面的工作,所以我无法想象自己从事其它领域的工作。

您认为什么是女性健康最紧迫的目标?

这是一个非常广泛的领域,有很多工作要做,但至少要在世界范围内,在实现性别平等方面取得真正的、重大的进展。某些语境下,这是关于确保女性获得同等的机会,而在另一些语境下,这是关于赋予女性与男性相同的基本人权。

您希望从智库项目中看到什么?

我希望看到一个真正强有力的宣传项目,支持在传统模式之外宣传女性健康研究,这样我们就能产生最大的影响。

您认为什么情况下的健康倡议行动最有效?您能举例说明我们的研究如何对人们的生活产生重大影响吗?

我认为最有效的公共卫生倡议行动是在设计时(从一开始)就与他们所服务的群体进行互动,比如乔治全球健康研究院针对所有原住民和托雷斯海峡岛民的健康研究,这真的对我产生了激励。

乔治全球健康研究院的研究人员主要关注的是预防和低成本的解决方案,哪些是你最感兴趣的?

很明显,低成本透析项目是一个让人兴奋的项目。这是一种极具创新的模式,将极大地改善以前无法获得或负担透析费用的人们的生活。这对于由于性别不平等而不太可能接受透析等拯救生命治疗的女性来说尤为重要。

关于我们:Trish Greenhalgh教授

Trish Greenhalgh教授是我们的首届杰出学者和牛津大学纳菲尔德初级保健科学系教授。

是什么促使您从事健康研究工作,什么让您保持动力?

我认为我一直都有一个“做研究的大脑”。甚至在我17岁大学面试时,也是我在向面试官询问关于其研究的问题,而不是他们问我问题。研究是对新知识的系统性探索。无论是定性还是定量,研究的特征是仔细选择适当的方法来回答所提出的问题,按照所能达到的最高标准严格地应用这些方法,对可能产生的错误具备反思意识,以及选择尽可能减少和考量错误的方法。我想我的动力来自于探索发现时的兴奋。我说的兴奋并不是指激动人心的顿悟时刻,而是当我们加深对复杂现象的理解时,我们会得到更多的启示。

如果你没有从事健康工作,你会做什么呢?

如果我没有被医学领域接受,我就会一直申请,直到我进入这个领域。我从3岁起就梦想成为一名医生。我从来没有过备选计划。

你认为什么是公共卫生最紧迫的目标?

联合国去年宣布的17项可持续发展目标相当不错。其中“良好健康与福祉”明确与健康有关;其他16个目标,如“无贫穷”、“减少不平等”、“气候行动”都在某种程度上与健康有关。我认为,我们这些对公共卫生战略方向感兴趣的人正在从单一问题路径转变为更加关心“所有政策中的健康”的心态。我曾经听过Andy Haines爵士关于行星健康的精彩演讲;他谈到了他如何增加与动物学家、土壤科学家和其他健康领域的专家合作,以试图应对全球性挑战。

您认为什么情况下的健康倡议行动最有效,能举例说明吗?健康倡议行动往往会在过于狭隘的构想下失败,例如,没有足够的跨学科合作,以及没有考虑到环境和实际情况时。事实上,我担心的是医学思维模式,其基本思想是“治疗疾病的药物”模型。医师研究人员过度使用随机对照试验——它将分析的重点放在证明内部有效性(“它能工作吗?”),而牺牲了外部有效性(“它会在这里工作吗?”)。是的,你说的没错,研究、宣传和政策需要通力合作。但我也要说,这些活动流从一开始就需要共同进化,才能达到理想目标,例如,研究人员在提交经费申请时明确了解决策者和倡导者来自何处,并且了解研究的展开需要不断考虑其预期的最终用户,理想的情况是进行持续的跨部门对话。

举个例子。我的团队一直在做一系列研究,主要是次级研究和建模,关于如何通过个人和群体的方法来预防2型糖尿病。我们从一开始就与当地政策制定者以及国家政策制定者一起工作,来具现我们提出的问题。他们告诉我们,他们发现当前的系统评价并无益处,因为这些问题的提出是出于学术兴趣,而没有说明考虑到当地的不确定因素,哪些选项可能是负担得起的。我们最近的发表物,以及更多的正在筹备中的发表物,一直专注于为政策制定者提供其认为有用的答案。例如,参见:

最近让您兴奋的研究是什么?为什么?

我非常欣赏Richard Osborne关于健康素养的研究。他将“健康素养”这一术语从“人们能否理解医学术语”的狭隘含义扩展到更广泛的含义,包括获取护理的能力——包括获取体系、社会支持、数字途径/素养等能力,以及我称之为自我倡导的能力——以及无动机、沮丧和受压迫等各种其他方面。这些当然与传统社会的健康决定因素有关,如贫困和社会排斥。在OPHELIA项目中,Osborne的团队开发了高质量的调查工具,以评估特定社区中健康素养的更广泛方面,并利用这些工具来面向服务开发和社区支持的不同方面。例如,参见:

您希望从智库项目工作中看到什么?

我热衷于开发一些关于系统级变化的想法,以及我们可以做些什么来补充和/或取代占主流的随机试验方法。不要误解我的意思——我将我的人生归功于随机试验研究,我相信这些设计在医疗护理方面具有至关重要的地位。但我认为乔治全球健康研究院现在所处的阶段是,它正在询求其它可能有助于解决全球性巨大挑战的方法,以及我们如何恰当地应用这些方法。我特别感兴趣的一个项目是大规模的IT项目,以及为什么它们经常失败,或者,如果它们没有完全失败,为什么它们经常不能实现预期的收益。虽然我更乐于研究成功的IT项目,但我认为,当我们开始思考为什么近年来由乔治资助的一些科技项目仅取得部分成功而不是无条件成功时,我们将会有大量的材料可用于分析探讨。

How can we
think differently about health?

To help end preventable illnesses?

And improve the lives of millions of people worldwide?

Ideas into impact

At The George Institute for Global Health we are focused on tackling the world’s biggest killers: non-communicable diseases (NCDs) and injury. We’re a 600+ person, world-class medical research organisation, operating in 50 countries with four major centres in Australia, China, India and the UK.

Our mission is to improve the lives of millions of people around the world. We believe that practical, cost effective approaches to managing non-communicable disease offer unparalleled opportunities to help people live longer, healthier lives.

We conduct high quality research, develop answers and solutions, and drive impact.

Our model

To complement our world class research, The George Institute’s unique global health policy thought leadership effort focuses on non-communicable diseases and injury, and improved systems for prevention and treatment. We share our insights, challenge the status quo and foster the kind of debates and discussions that lead to improvements in health outcomes. The think tank program involves current researchers at The George Institute as well as non-resident Distinguished Fellows – external experts who are leaders in their respective fields.

Our priority areas

The George Institute’s think tank program priority areas of focus are:

Guiding principles

Our think tank advocacy work follows these guiding principles:

  • Challenge the status quo;
  • Drive critical analysis and reflective thinking;
  • Develop networks and collaborations to enact real change;
  • Target global epidemics, particularly of non-communicable diseases and injury; and
  • Focus on vulnerable populations in both rich and poor countries.

Distinguished Fellows

Do you want to be part of this? Are you a leading health researcher, health policy expert, policy maker or health advocate?

Through The George Institute’s Distinguished Fellows program, you can contribute to the global debate. As a George Institute Distinguished Fellow, you’ll stay right where you are at your own organisation. We’ll support your thought leadership work, helping to amplify your insights to key stakeholders around the world.

Our Fellows will be driving the conversations around non-communicable diseases and injury, and improved systems for prevention and treatments. You will do this through blogs, public talks, videos, social media and discussion papers. We’ll even support you leading an event that will highlight specific challenges and solutions or sponsor your conference presentation or similar announcements related to your research. Our Fellows can also seek the opportunity to engage directly with stakeholders through our offices in Beijing, Delhi, Oxford or Sydney. Our social media, design, events and media teams will help you throughout.

The George Institute Distinguished Fellows Program: Ideas and solutions to reduce the burden of NCDs and injury and improve people’s health.

To apply or find out more, contact Jacqui Webster +61 2 8052 4520 or jwebster@georgeinstitute.org.au

Who we are: Associate Professor Jacqui Webster

Head, Public Health Advocacy and Policy Impact, The George Institute for Global Health

You are a passionate healthy eating advocate. What inspired you to work in health research?

I have always been interested in food. I grew up on a farm in North Yorkshire in England. Everything was home cooked or from the farm or garden. Mum thought that buying anything like jam or packet gravy from the shop was cheating.

I studied Sociology and then International Development which was when I first became aware of the massive inequalities in relation to food security globally. My first job was advocating for food policies to improve health for people on low incomes in the UK. Later I worked for the UK Food Standards Agency where I helped establish the UK government’s successful salt reduction strategy.

The George Institute’s researchers are leading thinkers on global health. What do you see as the most pressing goals for public health?

A lot of my research to date has been on reducing population salt intake by supporting companies to take salt out of foods and meals. But increasing the focus and spending of governments on prevention policies more broadly is urgently needed. This includes improving environments to support healthier living through better food and nutrition, improved mental health and reduced injuries.

What would you like to see come out of your work with the new think tank?

The George Institute’s research focuses on low cost solutions that have the potential to improve the health of millions of people globally. Our new think tank initiative is about ensuring our research influences policy and practice and ultimately affects people’s health. We will tackle this through cross-cutting issues including healthy living environments, improved health systems, women’s health inequalities and social enterprises. We will engage a suite of different channels including digital media and events to share insights, challenge the status quo and foster the kinds of debates that can deliver real impact in relation to health, both in Australia and globally.

What do you find most intriguing about healthy eating research?

Every individual is different and the factors that influence food choices are complex and changing. The move towards personalised nutrition is fascinating but probably only relevant to a small minority of self-motivated people – for the vast majority of people the food environment, including price, availability, culture, knowledge, and skills, is what influences their daily food choices. Telling people what to eat won’t have much of an impact unless we can change the food environment.

What kind of diets would you like us all to be eating in the near future?

There’s no one size fits all when it comes to diets but in general it would be good to see a shift towards increased consumption of fresh foods and less processed foods. The VicHealth Salt Reduction Partnership tagline, “If it’s packed, chances are it’s packed with salt,” says it all. We need to enable people to eat more fresh foods, including fruits and vegetables, and less processed foods. Obviously, not everyone is going to be able to cook from fresh at home every day so we need to be ensuring that manufacturers increase the healthiness of processed packaged foods and that restaurants and food outlets sell healthier meals.

How have you changed your lifestyle as you learn more about diet through your work?

There isn’t really much I won’t eat occasionally. I love food and enjoy eating out and entertaining. So I try to balance this out by bringing healthy lunches to work and making sure we only have healthy meals and snacks at home most of the time.

When do you think health initiatives work best? Can you give an example of how our research has made a big impact on people's lives, such as with regards to better dietary choices?

Certainly, one of the reasons for the success of the UK salt reduction strategy (that has already reduced salt by 15% and estimated to be saving around 9000 lives a year) was the fact that research, advocacy, government and industry were all brought together on the same page. Plus, the main focus was changing the food environment – in this case reducing salt levels in foods and meals – which was key to success.

Salt reduction programs also have great potential in developing countries and sometimes changes can be made quite quickly. As part of a visit to Mongolia I visited a bread factory and discussed the importance of reducing salt with the manager who immediately reduced the amount of salt added to the bread in the factory – which was producing 50% of the bread in Mongolia.  This would have had an immediate and significant impact on people’s health in Mongolia.

But not all changes are that easy. Processed foods are increasingly available in many countries, and I’m concerned about the rising consumption of products like instant noodles, which may be cheap and convenient, but contain huge amounts of salt.

What keeps you motivated to keep helping people eat better?

Initially my interest was in tackling malnutrition in the form of people not having enough to eat. But over the last 10-15 years my priority has shifted to the growing problem of people eating too much, or the wrong kinds of foods, leading to non-communicable diseases such as diabetes or cardiovascular disease. It’s not difficult to stay motivated. Food systems are complex and there is always something new to learn. Plus, everyone loves to talk about food and health.

The George Institute researchers mainly focus on prevention and low-cost solutions, which ones are you most excited about?

One example is the new affordable dialysis machine that has the potential to massively increase access to this life-saving treatment for people with kidney disease globally.

Meanwhile, SMARThealth provides an exciting opportunity to improve efficiency of patient healthcare in many countries and our trials of a new combination pill (that combines treatments for multiple risk factors) will help to increase adherence and has the potential to dramatically cut costs to health budgets around the world.

These are just some of the examples of low-cost solutions that can deliver impact in relation to healthcare choices, treatment and improving efficiencies of healthcare systems. Our challenge now is to make sure the right people know about them so that they are integrated into policy and practice and ultimately impact people’s health and save lives.

Who we are: Kelly Thompson

Program Manager, Women’s Health, The George Institute for Global Health

What inspired you to work in health research, and what keeps you motivated?

I obtained a great deal of satisfaction from being a bedside nurse but it was really tough work in a challenging system and towards the end I often felt like I wasn’t doing “enough”. I’ve always had an intrinsic knowledge that my purpose in life is to be of service to others and in research I can do this on a large scale and without the burnout that often happens when working on the frontline. Knowing my purpose is what keeps me motivated.

If you hadn’t gone into health, what would you have done instead?

As soon as I stepped foot into my first job after school as a medical receptionist, I knew I would always work in health so I can’t imagine myself working anywhere else. 

What do you see as the most pressing goals for women’s health?

It’s such a vast area with so much work to be done but the bottom line is about making real, measurable progress towards achieving gender equality in every possible context worldwide. In some contexts it’s about ensuring women are given the same opportunities and in others it’s about women being given the same basic human rights as men.

What would you like to see come out of your work with the think tank?

I’d love to see a really strong advocacy program to support the dissemination of women’s health research outside of traditional models so we can have the biggest possible impact.

When do you think health initiatives work best? Can you give an example of how our research has made a big impact on people's lives?

I think public health initiatives work best when they are designed (from the outset) in consultation with the communities they serve, like all of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health research done at The George Institute– that really inspires me.

The George Institute researchers mainly focus on prevention and low cost solutions, which ones are you most excited about?

Obviously – the low cost dialysis project is a mind-blower. It is such an innovative model and will drastically improve the lives of people not previously able to access or afford dialysis. This is particularly important for women who are less likely to access and receive life-saving treatments like dialysis due to gender inequality.

Who we are: Professor Trish Greenhalgh

Professor Trish Greenhalgh, is our inaugural Distinguished Fellow and Professor of Primary Care Health Sciences at Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences at the University of Oxford.

What inspired you to work in health research, and what keeps you motivated?

I think I’ve always had a ‘research brain’. Even at my university interview back at age 17, I was asking the interviewers more questions about their research than they asked me! Research is the systematic search for new knowledge. Whether qualitative or quantitative, research is characterised by careful selection of the appropriate methods to answer the question posed, rigorous application of those methods to the highest standard achievable, reflexive awareness of the possibility of error and measures taken to minimise and take account of error. I guess what keeps me motivated is the excitement of discovery. And by that, I don’t mean dramatic Eureka moments but the more incremental enlightenment we get as we deepen our understanding of complex phenomena.

If you hadn’t gone into health, what would you have done instead?

If I hadn’t been accepted for medicine, I would have kept applying until I got in. I wanted to be a doctor from age 3. I never had a Plan B.

What do you see as the most pressing goals for public health?

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals announced last year by the United Nations are pretty good. One “good health and well-being” is explicitly about health; the other 16 e.g. “end poverty”, “reduce inequalities”, “reduce climate change” are all health-related in some way. I think those of us who are interested in the strategic direction of public health are shifting from single-issue approaches to a more ‘health in all policies’ mindset. I once heard Sir Andy Haines give a brilliant lecture on planetary health; he talked about how he’s working increasingly with zoologists, soil scientists and other experts outside health to try to address global challenges.

When do you think health initiatives work best and can you give an example?

Health initiatives tend to flop when they’re too narrowly conceived e.g. not sufficiently interdisciplinary, and when they fail to take account of context and practicalities. Indeed, I worry about the medical mind-set whose basic script is the ‘drug for a disease’ model. Physician researchers over-use randomised controlled trials – which focus the analysis on demonstrating internal validity (‘can it work’) at the expense of external validity (‘is it going to work here?’). Yes you’re right that research, advocacy and policy need to come together, but I would also say that these streams of activity need to co-evolve from the outset so that – for example – the researcher is writing the grant application with a clear and respectful idea of where the policymakers and advocates are coming from, and that research as it unfolds takes continual account of its intended end-users, ideally through ongoing, cross-sector dialogue.

Here’s an example. My team have been doing a series of studies, mostly secondary research and modelling, on how best to prevent type 2 diabetes through both individual and population measures. We worked from the outset with local policymakers and also from an early stage national policymakers to shape the questions we were asking. They told us that they found existing systematic reviews unhelpful because the questions posed were of academic interest but did not tell them for example which options were likely to be affordable, given local contingencies. Our recent publications, and more in the pipeline, have been tightly focused on providing the kind of answers that policymakers will find useful. See for example:

What recent research excites you and why?

I love Richard Osborne’s work on health literacy. He’s extended the term ‘health literacy’ from the narrow meaning of 'can the person understand medical terms' to a much broader meaning that embraces capacity to access care - including such things as ability to navigate the system, social support, digital access/literacy and what I’d call self-advocacy - and various additional dimensions of being unmotivated, downhearted and downtrodden. These of course relate to the traditional social determinants of health such as poverty and social exclusion. In the OPHELIA project, Osborne’s team have developed high-quality survey instruments to assess these wider aspects of health literacy in a particular community and use those to target different aspects of service development and community support. See for example:

What would you like to see come out of your work with the think tank?

I’m keen to develop some ideas on system-level change and what we might do to complement and/or replace the dominant randomised trial approach. Don’t get me wrong – I owe my life to randomised trial research and I believe these designs have a crucial place in healthcare. But I think The George Institute for Global Health is now at the stage where it’s asking what other methodologies might be helpful in addressing global grand challenges, and how can we apply these appropriately. One of my specific interests is large-scale IT projects and why they so often fail or, if they don’t fail completely, why they so often don’t achieve the benefits anticipated. Whilst I’d be happier studying successful IT projects, I think we’ll have plenty of material to chew on as we consider why some of the tech initiatives funded by The George in recent years have been partial rather than unqualified successes.